The unique in Greece Museum of Typography is found in Chania, not far from the city, in the Park of Local Industries in Souda. It constitutes the life vision of its founder, Yannis Garedakis, founder and editor of the newspaper “Haniotika nea”.
The Museum of Typography officially opened its gates in May 2005. The museum collection includes hard to find, cast iron printing presses and other machines, as well as tools and objects that present the development of typography from birth, in the days of Gutenberg, up to our days. Rare books and newspapers, as well as our precious lithographies, travel the visitor in the art of Typography.
The effort for the enrichment of the museum with new exhibits and the contact with people of Typography are continuous. In April 2012 the museum was extended by adding a new wing with collection exhibits that are related to the development of graphic arts, as well as two important exhibitions regarding the evolution of typography and the history of writing.
In 2015, the Museum of Typography celebrated 10 years of operation and inaugurated a new hall with rare publications dating back to 1554, lithographies, woodcuts, etc. but also a gift shop and a resting space for its visitors.
During guided tours children and adults have the opportunity to print on the old printing presses.
The museum is a member of the Association of European Printing Museums (AEPM).